Celiac Disease Nutrition Guidelines

abdominal cavity The disease is an autoimmune disease in which foods containing gluten cause the immune system to attack the lining of the small intestine. Over time, this can erode the intestinal lining and cause a variety of symptoms, including digestive problems, abdominal pain, and headaches.

It’s important for people with celiac disease to avoid foods that contain gluten (found in wheat, rye, and barley), as well as various packaged foods, to prevent damage to the gut and manage their symptoms. The only effective treatment option for celiac disease is a lifelong gluten-free diet.

This article will explain what to eat on a gluten-free diet, what foods to avoid, and how to cope with eating out with celiac disease.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that affects about 1 in 100 people.

This condition can develop at any age. Some children develop celiac disease symptoms after adding gluten-containing grains to their diets, and many women begin to experience celiac disease symptoms after pregnancy and childbirth. Genetics and stress are also thought to play a role in the development of the condition.

When people with celiac disease consume small amounts of gluten (a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley), their body’s immune system responds by attacking the small intestine.This attack causes damage to the little finger-like structure in the small intestine called fluff.

Your fluff plays an important role in nutrient absorption. If the villi are damaged, you won’t be able to absorb essential vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients from food. This can lead to malnutrition no matter how much you eat.

Are you at risk for celiac disease?Your genes will tell you

Benefits of a gluten-free diet for people with celiac disease

For people with celiac disease, the only effective treatment option is to follow a strict gluten-free diet. People with celiac disease must maintain a gluten-free diet for life.

When people with celiac disease follow a gluten-free diet, they often experience significant improvement in symptoms within a few days or weeks. If they stick to a gluten-free diet, symptoms usually go away completely.

Those with celiac disease who follow a gluten-free diet may see improvement in the following symptoms:

  • recurring stomach pain
  • Repeated bloating
  • a rash that may be painful or itchy
  • muscle spasms
  • bone pain
  • lose weight
  • constipate
  • gas
  • diarrhea
  • Numbness in the legs
  • pale, foul-smelling stools
  • infertility
  • Early-onset osteoporosis (weak and fragile bones)
  • low blood counts
  • changes in tooth color

Eliminating gluten often helps heal damage done to the small intestine and prevent further damage from occurring.

In most cases, the small intestine should fully heal within three to six months of starting a gluten-free diet. When this happens, the fluff will be able to work normally again.

READ ALSO:  The link between rosacea and IBS/SIBO

In older adults, the small intestine can take up to two years to fully heal.

Coping with Celiac Disease

List of foods to avoid

On a gluten-free diet, people with celiac disease should not eat any foods that contain gluten. This includes products such as food, beverages, some medicines, and even cosmetics.

Gluten is a protein that acts like glue to help food hold its shape.It is mainly found in grains containing wheat, barley, rye and triticalebut it can be used as a thickener or filler in certain packaged foods, such as salad dressings, sauces, and soups.

So if you have celiac disease, be sure to read the labels of any packaged products to make sure they don’t list gluten in the ingredients. Look for gluten-free products that are third-party tested and certified.

wheat

Those on a gluten-free diet due to celiac disease should avoid foods that contain wheat. Wheat can be found in the following foods:

  • cereals
  • Spaghetti
  • bread
  • baked goods
  • sauce
  • salad dressing
  • soup

barley

Barley is another grain that contains gluten. Those following a gluten-free diet for celiac disease should avoid foods and beverages that contain barley. These include:

  • beer
  • beer yeast
  • soup
  • food coloring
  • malted milk
  • Milkshakes made with malted milk
  • Maltose syrup
  • malt extract
  • barley malt powder
  • malt flavor
  • Malt Vinegar

rye

Rye is another grain that contains gluten. Those on a gluten-free diet should avoid foods that contain rye, including:

  • cereals
  • rye bread
  • Rye beer

triticale

triticale is a newer grain, a hybrid of rye and wheat. It also contains gluten, so people with celiac disease should avoid it.

Triticale can be found in:

  • cereals
  • bread
  • Spaghetti

The Best Places to Buy Gluten-Free (Online or in Store)

food list

While reducing gluten may take some effort, there are several foods that are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet, including foods that are naturally gluten-free.

There are also many gluten-free packaged products to choose from, but it’s important to look for gluten-free products that are made in a gluten-free facility and certified, preferably by a third party.

Natural gluten free food

Healthy whole foods that are naturally gluten-free include:

  • vegetable
  • fruit
  • Meat
  • poultry
  • dairy products
  • fish
  • seafood
  • beans, lentils
  • nut
  • beans

There are also naturally gluten-free grains, starches, and legumes that can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. These include:

  • Amaranth
  • beans
  • Buckwheat
  • Chia Tai
  • corn
  • flax
  • Millet
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Meter
  • soybean

Oats are also naturally gluten-free, but be sure to look for brands that are labeled gluten-free. If oats are grown adjacent to rye, barley, or wheat, there is a high risk of cross-contamination with gluten.

READ ALSO:  Diverticulosis vs Diverticulitis: What's the Difference?

Are gluten-free foods really more fattening?

Tips for Eating Out

Eating out while following a strict gluten-free diet for celiac disease takes some effort, but it’s gotten easier in recent years.

As awareness of celiac disease (and other gluten allergies and intolerances) continues to rise, many restaurants, including major national chains, have designated gluten-free cooking areas to avoid cross-contamination, and many restaurants are There is a dedicated gluten-free menu. There are even 100% gluten-free restaurants in some areas.

Additional tips for safe eating out from the Celiac Disease Foundation include:

Choose your restaurant wisely

If you have celiac disease, you’ll have the best dining out experience if you do some research ahead of time to find a restaurant that has a designated gluten-free cooking area and a menu that offers gluten-free options. Consider checking the menu online or calling the restaurant to discuss your options before making a reservation.

Most restaurants also have naturally gluten-free items on their menus, such as salads, some soups, burgers without buns, or entrees like meat or fish with rice and vegetables.

However, if you’re dining at a restaurant that doesn’t have a special gluten-free menu, it’s important to confirm that your meal doesn’t use gluten-containing sauces or ingredients that may contain gluten in breadcrumbs.

tell the waiter

When you arrive at the restaurant, tell the waiter that you have celiac disease. Make sure they understand what this means. If they don’t, explain clearly the foods you can’t eat.

Be sure to stress that gluten can even be found in ingredients like soy sauce. If you’re not sure if the waiter understood you, ask to speak to the restaurant’s chef or manager.

don’t make assumptions

When ordering, never assume that an item on the menu is gluten-free. Best to always ask.

For example, an omelet might seem like a good gluten-free option, but some restaurants may use a gluten-containing batter to make the eggs fluffy. Baked potatoes are supposed to be naturally gluten-free, but they may have a gluten-containing coating that makes them extra crispy.

When in doubt, ask. Most restaurants are happy to provide accommodation to suit your needs.

have a backup plan

Sometimes a friend or family member may choose a place that isn’t gluten-free. Alternatively, the first choice on the menu may not be available, or there may not be enough gluten-free options that sound good to you.

To avoid disappointment (or starvation), if you know you’ll be dining at a place that doesn’t have a gluten-free menu, consider eating at home before going out. And consider carrying a spare gluten-free option with you in case a gluten-free menu isn’t available.

READ ALSO:  Dealing with Friends and Relatives When You're Gluten Free

generalize

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that causes the body’s immune system to overreact to gluten and attack the lining of the small intestine. People with celiac disease must follow a strict gluten-free diet to manage their symptoms and prevent damage to their intestinal lining.

Gluten is found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. It is important to avoid foods containing these grains and products that use gluten as a thickener or filler.

Fortunately, there are many naturally gluten-free foods (such as fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, and most dairy products), as well as packaged gluten-free foods that people with celiac disease can enjoy.

VigorTip words

Starting a gluten-free diet for celiac disease can seem overwhelming, but it can help.

Consider consulting with your healthcare provider, dietitian, or registered dietitian, who will give you tips on how to cope with these dietary changes and direct you to other resources, such as blogs, recipes, and cooking workshops, to help you with Adjustment.

Your healthcare provider can also provide you with helpful meal plans, tips on how to read food labels, and advice on which foods and drinks to choose. If you have any questions about adopting a gluten-free diet, please feel free to ask for help.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are Bananas Good for Celiac Disease?

    All fresh fruits and vegetables, including bananas, are naturally gluten-free. Bananas and other fruits are great choices for people with celiac disease because they are gluten-free and rich in health-promoting vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

  • Do potatoes have gluten?

    No, potatoes are naturally gluten-free. However, when eating out, it’s important to ask if the potatoes on the menu are gluten-free. Sometimes potato options like chips include a coating that contains gluten, which is not suitable for people with celiac disease.

  • Can I drink alcohol with celiac disease?

    Yes, most types. Many forms of alcohol are safe for people with celiac disease. During the processing of distilled spirits, protein is removed from the raw material. This means that distilled spirits including gin, vodka, whiskey, brandy, tequila, rum and some liqueurs are considered gluten-free even if they are made from grains like wheat and rye completed.

    Most wines, most hard sodas, some hard ciders, and gluten-free beers (without barley or wheat) are also naturally gluten-free. To be on the safe side, be sure to check the labels of anything you’re not sure about.